“I’ve been waiting for you.”

Location: My porch, evening

Song Title: K.

Artist: Cigarettes After Sex

Album: Cigarettes After Sex

Label: Partisan Records

Duration: 5:20

Genre: Alternative

Source:  Headphones

Who I want to share the song with: I want to shove this song into everyone’s ears to let them know how wonderful it is.

How I discovered this song: NPR’s All Songs Considered

 

When I first heard this song on All Songs Considered, I fell in love with it and this band, who just released their first LP last Friday.

I can hardly put into words what this song makes me feel. The melody is perfect and bounces around in my head all day. When I hear it, I can’t help but sing along. Greg Gonzalez’s vocals are so cozy. The bass lines make me want to feel summer breezes forever. This song makes me positively euphoric– that’s the best way I can describe it. It’s one of those (very few!) songs that I can listen to over and over.

Sitting on my porch, watching the sunset, I am peaceful above the hum drum traffic of Washington Street. I am taking a moment to be thankful for where I am, who I’ve become, and the opportunities that lie ahead. I’ve fallen in love with myself and with the season.

Oddly enough, this song, though it is about discovering a romantic connection, signifies, for me, inner growth. I feel as if I have almost fully become the person that I’ve always wanted to be and that certain fears have stopped me from being. Today, I feel, I am reaping many rewards. I’ve come a long way.

Leave a Reply

